Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 22nd, 2012

The Autumnal Equinox

Delicious autumn!  My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.  –  George Eliot

It’s that time again!  All my long-time readers know that autumn is my favorite season of the year for a number of reasons, not the least of which are the shorter, cooler days.  I love the autumn weather, the turning of the foliage, and all the autumn holidays from now until Yule (including my birthday), but there’s also an indefinable something else I cannot adequately or rationally describe.  In the absence of more precise words, let’s just call it autumn magic; it’s a sort of resonance I have with the season, a deep sense of rightness that never fails to lift my spirits and has even helped me to pull out of long, deep depressions on a number of occasions.  Weather-wise, the last few autumns have been a great disappointment to me; the summer heat lingered until the end of September, so that when the crisp weather eventually did arrive it was limited to a few short weeks in October before giving way to the November chill.  But not this year; the Dog Days petered out after only two weeks, and by mid-August we were opening the windows at night again.  By the beginning of this month most days were unseasonably cool, and there have been several days lately on which we haven’t had to turn on the air conditioner even at mid-afternoon.  Though the southbound sun crosses the celestial equator at 14:49 GMT today (9:49 US Central Daylight Time), autumn is already underway here, and as far as I’m concerned it could not come too soon.

If this is your first autumn with me, you may be interested in reading my previous two columns for the occasion.  As usual, I wish all of my readers a happy holiday, and ask that whatever your beliefs may be, you all receive success and happiness in your personal, sexual, emotional and professional lives.  Blessed Be!

Read Full Post »